Four weeks until World Elder Abuse Awareness Day – June 15th, 2015!

Week 1 2015 Elder Abuse Awareness JPEG

One thought on “Four weeks until World Elder Abuse Awareness Day – June 15th, 2015!

  1. In recent months I have interviewed organizations on KOOP Austin who work with the elderly in immigrant communities and households who are passively isolated because of their inability to get out and integrate, no less assimilate. These organizations oftern enlist the use of elders already established within the community to help open this new world to those new to it. Although this is a very specific solution to a limited problem, the concept of elders helping elders is very appealing and now seemingly so obvious.

    Although I joke that my own taste of abuse is having my unknown time and fixed income used to help with my ever growing family I am also under constant siege from a wide range of potential fraud through unsolicited phone calls, e-mails, letters, TV ads and direct contacts. For now I am lucky enough to deal with these as just a nuisance, but I am also able to help others who might not be. I am not alone.

    Should we not be looking at engaging the able amongst the elderly to help and also assist them with new tools to help themselves?

    Like

Leave a Reply

